AMADEE-18 Mars Analog Mission

In February 2018, the Austrian Space Forum – in partnership with the Oman National Steering Comittee for AMADEE-18 – will conduct an highly international Mars analog field simulation in the Dhofar region, Oman. Directed by a Mission Support Center in Austria, a small field crew will conduct experiments preparing for future human Mars missions in the fields of engineering, planetary surface operations, astrobiology, geophysics/geology, life sciences and other.

Conducting field research in a representative environment is an excellent tool to gain operational experience and understand the advantages and limitations of remote science operations on other planetary bodies. This field mission is designed to be:

  • an opportunity to study equipment, procedures and workflows under Mars analog conditions with  humans-in-the-loop.
  • a platform for testing life-detection or geophysical techniques, terrain tests for rovers and increase the situational awareness of remote support teams,
  • studying the test site as a model region for Martian deserts and extreme life,
  • serving as an outreach platform to enhance the visibility of planetary sciences

 

Baseline

The actual field mission will take place during four weeks in February 2018. Based upon 12 preceding Mars analog missions, the Austrian Space Forum has established a mission support infrastructure, trained and certified flight controllers and field crew members as well as a programmatic roadmap to implement a coherent strategy.

Field activities will be scheduled through a “flight plan”, supported by a remote science team and directed by flight controllers at the Mission Support Center in Austria. An expert media team will ensure a high international public visibility.

AMADEE-18 operation infographic

Mission Milestones

  • 30Jun2017: Deadline experiment proposal submission
  • 15Jul2017: Announcement of result of the experiment selection
  • May-Dec2017: AMADEE-18 mission specific training
  • 01Feb-28Feb2018: AMADEE-18 Mission
  • 25-27Mai2018 (tbd): AMADEE-18 Science Workshop

The AMADEE-18  Test Site in Oman

AMADEE-18 location
The deserts of Dhofar, the largest governorate in the Sultanate of Oman, have a resemblance to various Mars surface features, such as sedimentary structures dating back to the Paleocene and Eocene, salt domes of the South Oman Salt Basin and ancient river beds. The test site offers a wide range of sand and rocky surfaces combined with a broad variability in inclination.

The nearest major city is Salalah, expected temperatures at the test site in February typically range between 16-27°C with less than 10 mm of precipitation.

Representative photo from AMADEE-18 test site

Representative photo from AMADEE-18 test site

Contacts

Sophie Gruber and Stefan Übermasser
AMADEE-18 leadership team
,

Monika Fischer
OeWF Media Contact

Journal References

  • Losiak, A. at al. (2014): Remote Science Support during MARS2013: Testing a Map-Based System of Data Processing and Utilization for Future Long-Duration Planetary Missions, Astrobiology 14:5, pp 417-430
  • Groemer, G. et al. (2014): The MARS2013 Analog Mission, Astrobiology 14:5, pp 360-376
  • Groemer, G. et al. (2016): The AMADEE-15 Mars Simulation, Acta Astronautica, Vol 129, pp 277–290

Media References

This article is available in: German

AMADEE-18, Oman

AMADEE-18 Mars Simulation

Im Februar 2018 wird das Österreichische Weltraum Forum (ÖWF – gemeinsam mit dem Oman National Steering Comittee für AMADEE-18 – eine internationale Mars Simulation in der Dhofar Region, Oman durchführen. Unter der Leitung des Mission Support Center mit Sitz in Innsbruck wird eine kleine Feldcrew Experimente aus den Bereichen: Ingenieurstechnik, planetary surface operations, Astrobiologie, Geophysik/Geologie, Biowissenschaften und mehr durchführen um zukünftige, bemannte Marsmissionen vorzubereiten.

Feldforschung in einer Mars-ähnlichen Umgebung durchzuführen, ist eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, operative Erfahrung zu sammeln und sowohl die Vorteile als auch die Grenzen der wissenschaftlichen Erkundung fremder Planeten zu verstehen. Die AMADEE-18 Mission:

  • bietet die Möglichkeit, von Menschen eingesetzte Ausrüstung, Prozesse und Arbeitsabläufe unter analogen Bedingungen zu studieren,
  • ist eine Test-Plattform für geophysikalische und astrobiologische Messgeräte sie ermöglicht Gelände-Tests für robotische Fahrzeuge sowie die Optimierung der (wissenschaftlichen) Unterstützungsmethoden auf der Erde für die Feldcrews auf dem Mars,
  • untersucht das Testgelände als Modellregion für Mars-Wüsten und Gegenden mit extremen Lebensbedingungen,
  • stärkt die öffentliche Wahrnehmung von Analogforschung und Raumfahrt.

 

24.05.2017
AMADEE-18 Junior Researchers Program
(1.03 MB pdf)

Ausgangssituation

Die Mission wird in einem Zeitraum von vier Wochen im Februar 2018 stattfinden. Das Österreichische Weltraum Forum stellt -aufbauend auf 11 vorhergehenden Mars-Analogmissionen– eine Mission Support Infrastruktur, ausgebildete Mitarbeiter des Mission Support Centers, Feld-Crew-Mitarbeiter und einen professionellen Strategie- und-Ablaufplan bereit.

Die Feldaktivitäten befolgen einen detaillierten Flugplan, werden vom Flugdirektor im Mission Support Center in Innsbruck geleitet und von einem Wissenschaftsteam, das vom Ursprungsland bzw. dem Mission Support Center aus arbeitet, unterstützt. Ein erfahrenes Medienteam gewährleistet eine hohe, internationale Sichtbarkeit der Simulation.

AMADEE-18 Kommunikationsinfografik

 

Meilensteine der Mission

  • 30Jun2017: Ende der Einreichfrist für Experimentvorschläge
  • 15Jul2017: Bekanntgabe der Experimentauswahl
  • May-Dec2017: AMADEE-18 missionsspezifisches Training
  • 01Feb-28Feb2018: AMADEE-18 Mission
  • 25-27Mai2018 (tbd): AMADEE-18 Wissenschaftsworkshop

Das AMADEE-18 Testgelände im Oman

AMADEE-18 Testgelände
Die Wüsten von Dhofar, dem größten Regierungsbezirk im Sultanat Oman, ähneln in ihrer Beschaffenheit in vielerlei Hinsicht der Marsoberfläche, beispielsweise finden sich dort sedimentäre Strukturen, die bis zum Paläozän und Eozän zurückreichen, Salzkuppeln der südlichen Salzebenen und ausgetrocknete Flussbetten. Das Testgelände bietet eine große Vielfalt an sandigen und steinige Oberflächen und Hängen.

Die nächstgelegene Großstadt ist Salalah. Die durchschnittlichen Temperaturen im Testgebiet variieren im Februar zwischen 16° und 27°C mit weniger als 10mm Niederschlag.

Fotos vom Testgelände

Fotos vom Testgelände

Kontakt

Sophie Gruber und Stefan Übermasser
AMADEE-18 Projektleitungsteam
,

Monika Fischer
ÖWF Medienkontakt

Journal References

  • Losiak, A. at al. (2014): Remote Science Support during MARS2013: Testing a Map-Based System of Data Processing and Utilization for Future Long-Duration Planetary Missions, Astrobiology 14:5, pp 417-430
  • Groemer, G. et al. (2014): The MARS2013 Analog Mission, Astrobiology 14:5, pp 360-376
  • Groemer, G. et al. (2016): The AMADEE-15 Mars Simulation, Acta Astronautica, Vol 129, pp 277–290

Media Referenzen

Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Englisch

AMADEE-18, Oman